Teaching Academy

Theiss-Morse giving high fives to students in a classroom

Teaching Academy

The College of Arts and Sciences embraces teaching excellence as central to student learning within a liberal arts education. The Teaching Academy engages arts and sciences teachers in local, national, and international conversations about essential issues in higher education, develops teaching expertise across the disciplines and at all levels of learning, and recognizes and rewards exceptional teachers.

  • Nine-twelve fellows serving three-year terms
  • New fellows join annually
  • Awarded a named professorship during their term

Develop College Teaching Expertise

Every year

  • Lead a teaching workshop
  • Serve as a teaching coach to a peer
  • Participate in Teaching Academy symposium
  • Attend meetings with fellows

Lead and Engage

By year

Year 1: Explore a topic related to teaching by attending a conference on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning or visiting a peer institution to discuss pedagogical approaches and observe classes. Financial support available through the Teaching Academy.

Year 2: Lead a symposium (collaboratively with other Year 2 participants or independently) on a topic you choose.

Year 3: Publish an article on a topic you explored or experiences you had as a fellow in the Teaching Academy. Receive a stipend in your final year.


Application Information

Who: Tenure line and Professor of Practice faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences, any rank who have a documented record of sustained participation in pedagogical improvement initiatieves and an accomplished teaching record.

What: In NuGrant, submit a C.V. and letter of interest describing topics you might explore as a fellow and how they connect to work you have already done. While you might be at a preliminary stage with the topics you put forward, your proposal should demonstrate your familiarity with work that has been done on the topic. The Teaching Academy values the scholarship of teaching and learning and seeks theoretically and empirically informed inquiries into teaching and learning.

Be sure to discuss your activities involving teaching or curricular development as meaningful scholarly work; you might include publications, educational projects (funded or otherwise), participation in the peer review of teaching or similar activities, and relevant presentations, workshops, or talks that you have given.

The Teaching Academy works collaboratively; we encourage you to discuss past collaborations and the approach you take to ensure its success.

When: By November 1, 2019, at 5 p.m.

Where: in NUgrant

Send questions to:
Manda Williamson
Chair of the CAS Teaching Academy
Associate Professor of Practice
Department of Psychology

June Griffin
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education


Request a Teaching Coach

Would you like a fresh perspective on your teaching? Thinking about how to document effective teaching? 

Request a Teaching Academy Fellow as teaching coach for the semester/year.

CAS Teaching Academy Fellows offer confidential consultations about teaching that will help you to reflect on your work in the classroom and refine your teaching practices.

Your coach will provide individualized and confidential support through conversations about your teaching. You might focus your conversations on a particular topic such as designing courses and assignments, difficult classroom situations, engaging learners, and making sense of end-of-semester evaluations.

You can also request an in-class observation. An in-class observation offers you valuable information and a space to reflect on your work as a teacher.

Teaching Academy Fellows take a coaching approach to consultation, allowing you to drive the conversation according to your specific goals and aspirations.


Teaching Academy Fellows


Kathy Castle, David Harwood, and Rebecca Lai
  • Kathy Castle,
    Department of Communication Studies
  • David Harwood,
    Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Yvonne Lai,
    Department of Mathematics

Read more about their work


Chad Brassil, Calvin Garbin, Patrice McMahon
  • Chad Brassil,
    Department of Biological Sciences
  • Calvin Garbin,
    Department of Psychology
  • Patrice McMahon,
    Department of Political Science

Read more about their work


Debbie Minter, Leen-Kiat Soh, Manda Williamson
  • Debbie Minter,
    Department of English
  • Leen-Kiat Soh,
    Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Manda Williamson,
    Department of Psychology

Read more about their work