Achievements: Helen Moore, physics students

Fri, 09/04/2015 - 08:08

Helen Moore, Aaron Douglas Professor of Sociology, earned the Carla B. Howery Award for Developing Teacher-Scholars from the American Sociological Association. The award is given annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to teaching sociology through mentoring and training of graduate students to teach sociology and contribute to the scholarship of teaching and learning. Her research specializes in inequality and the sociology of education. She has been a member of UNL’s faculty since 1979. Moore received the honor during the ASA annual conference in Chicago in August. Read more here.


Nine physics and astronomy students have been named NASA Nebraska Space Grant Fellows for 2015-2016. The awards total more than $20,000 for the development and research of aerospace-related projects. UNL's Brad Shadwick, Michael Sibbernsen, and Shawn Langan will be mentors for the projects. Aniruddha Joshi will assist the project as radio array originator and manager. Read more about the honor here.

Fellowship recipients and their research projects are:

  • Nicole Benker will develop a homemade tracking device for a radio telescope array.

  • Shelby Clausen will calibrate an optical encoder and develop remotely controlled hardware at the 30-inch telescope at Behlen Observatory.

  • Jennifer Hamblin will design the implementation of the control card for the radio telescope array.

  • Matthew Hormandl will develop control software for the radio telescope array.

  • Celeste Labedz will create remotely accessible control software for the 30-inch telescope at Behlen Observatory.

  • Savanna McDonald will design a remote user interface for the control software of the radio telescope array.

  • Jonathan Reyes will work on developing novel fluid models for studying plasma systems with wide-ranging applications including space weather and solar physics.

  • Emma Schneider will develop the setting algorithm, control algorithm for the 30-inch telescope at Behlen Observatory.

  • Alexander Stamm will work on developing new particle-based plasma simulation tools with both laboratory and astrophysical applications.