Annie Himes and Jeremy Payne named outstanding student leaders

Photo Credit: Student leaders
Thu, 04/16/2015 - 10:47

Annie Himes of Omaha and Jeremy Payne of Lincoln have received UNL's 2015 Outstanding Student Leadership Awards.

Himes (standing sixth from the left, above) is a 2015 Truman Scholar completing her degree in three majors – Russian, history and global studies.

Payne (standing second from the right, above) is a biochemistry major in the Pre-Medicine program.

Juan Franco, vice chancellor for student affairs, presented the awards during an April 10 ceremony at the Van Brunt Visitors Center.

Multiple UNL selection committees on behalf of the Office of Student Affairs annually select one male and one female student for recognition for their outstanding leadership contributions at UNL and their efforts to develop leadership quali ties in their fellow students. The Outstanding Student Leadership Award is one of the highest awards presented to students, recognizing outstanding leadership in academic, co-curricular, and/or extracurricular activities and involvement.

In addition to Himes and Payne, four students were honored as finalists and 15 as semifinalists for the awards.

The Arts and Sciences finalists were:

  • Alia Noetzel, Omaha - Psychology
  • Kevin Real, Papillion - Chemistry

The Arts and Sciences semifinalists were:

  • Lauren Greufe, Elkhorn - Biological Sciences
  • Jacqueline Juffer, Wagner, South Dakota – Political Science
  • Joshua Waltjer, Sioux Falls, South Dakota – Political Science
  • Tori Wheeler, Clay Center – Psychology

Adapted from UNL Today.

Photo above: Participants in the 2015 Outstanding Student Leadership Awards event on April 10. Annie Himes is standing sixth from the left. Jeremy Payne is standing second from the right.