CAS faculty earn 2021 Layman Awards

Photo Credit: Campus
Tue, 07/06/2021 - 14:05

The Office of Research and Economic Development is supporting 30 research projects in 2021-22 through its Layman Awards program, which funds work that enhances a researcher's ability to obtain external funding to support prominent scholarship.

There are two tracks:

  • The Layman Seed Program, which funds new projects by early-career faculty who are nontenured at the time of submission
  • The New Directions Program, which funds tenured faculty who are branching into new research directions or need funding to support pilot or developmental work toward the next step in a funded research program

Awards of up to $10,000 per application for each program are made possible by support from the University of Nebraska Foundation.

Layman Seed Program recipients

  • Peisi Huang, physics and astronomy
  • Nganga Muchiri, English
  • Robert Schub, political science
  • Robert Streubel, physics and astronomy

New Directions Program recipients

  • Shireen Adenwalla, physics and astronomy
  • Elizabeth Enkin, modern languages and literatures
  • James Garza, history and ethnic studies
  • Carolyn Heitman, anthropology (School of Global Integrative Studies)
  • Ari Kohen, political science
  • Kristi Montooth, biological sciences