Four CAS faculty chosen to participate in Big Ten leadership programs

Photo Credit: Nebraska N and Go Big Red on a banner
Wed, 10/12/2022 - 11:26

Four faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences are among 11 selected by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor to attend two Big Ten Academic Alliance leadership programs this year.

Academic Leadership Program

  • Kwame Dawes, George W. Holmes University Professor of English, Glenna Luschei Editor of Prairie Schooner
  • Debra A. Hope, Aaron Douglas Professor of Psychology, Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Graduate Education

Fellows will attend a program that is a blend of in-person and virtual events, beginning with a seminar held at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Oct. 13-15 and concluding with an event at Pennsylvania State University in the spring. They will also participate in conversations on campus throughout the academic year learning about leadership and a broad range of topics including community engagement, diversity and inclusion, freedom of expression, challenging conversations, mental health, student success, and the social value of higher education.

Learn more about the Academic Leadership Program.

Department Executive Officers Program

  • David DiLillo, Willa Cather Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology
  • Anne Duncan, Associate Professor of Classics and Chair, Department of Classics and Religious Studies

Fellows will attend a hybrid program of online sessions and an in-person seminar at the Big Ten Conference Center in Rosemont, Illinois. Program topics will cover conflict resolution, mentoring, faculty development, performance reviews, and group problem-solving.

Learn more about the Department Executive Officers Program.