Great Plains Book Prize finalists for 2020 announced

Photo Credit: Covers for Book Prize finalists
Fri, 04/10/2020 - 11:05

Native American history is featured in the three finalists for the 2020 Stubbendieck Great Plains Distinguished Book Prize, which celebrates the book published during the previous year that made the biggest contribution to advancing understanding of and appreciation for the people, cultures, and natural environment of the Great Plains.

This year’s finalists, selected by a panel of judges, are:

  • Stringing Rosaries: The History, the Unforgivable, and the Healing of Northern Plains American Indian Boarding School Survivors by Denise K. Lajimodiere, which presents a brief history of Indigenous American boarding school programs along with interviews with boarding school survivors and the story of the author's own healing journey with her father. Lajimodiere is an enrolled citizen of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, Belcourt, North Dakota, and an assistant professor in education at North Dakota State University.
  • Our History is the Future: Standing Rock Versus the Dakota Access Pipeline, and the Long Tradition of Indigenous Resistance by Nick Estes. The book connects traditions of resistance to the largest Indigenous protest movement in the 21st Century – the Dakota Access Pipeline encampment. Estes is a citizen of the Lower Brule Sioux Tribe and an assistant professor of American Studies at the University of New Mexico.
  • Lakota America: A New History of Indigenous Power by Pekka Hämäläinen, a complete account of the Lakota Indians from the early 16th to the early 21st Century, including the history of the iconic figures of Red Cloud, Crazy Horse, and Sitting Bull. Hämäläinen is the Rhodes Professor of American History at Oxford University.

In its 15th year, the prize includes a $10,000 cash award and an invitation for the winner to deliver a lecture at the center. The winner will be announced this spring. Nominations were made by publishers or authors.