Teaching Awards Available

Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award

In recognition of outstanding teaching in the humanities

Award: $3000

Eligibility: Full-time faculty in the Humanities

The Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award is presented each year to recognize an individual for his/her outstanding teaching in the humanities. The humanities disciplines, as defined by the Academic Senate, include art, classics, communication studies, English, history, modern languages and literatures, journalism, libraries, music, philosophy, theatre arts, ROTC, museum, and members of the faculty in the athletic department and all units in the College of Architecture. From the applications received by the College one nominee is forwarded to Academic Affairs. Academic Affairs selects one awardee from among all nominations received. 

Annis Chaikin Sorensen
Annis Chaikin Sorensen, 1918

College Distinguished Teaching Award

In recognition of consistent excellence in teaching

Award: $1000

Eligibility: All faculty

These awards honor faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences with a record of consistently excellent teaching. Previous recipients may be nominated after a six-year period. Although these awards are made by Academic Affairs, awardees are nominated by the College. Normally six awards are given each year; each awardee receives $1000.

Eric Malina, 2012 CDTA recipient
Eric Malina, Chemistry, received this award in 2012

Hazel R. McClymont Distinguished Teaching Fellow Award

Honoring exemplary teaching

Award: $6000

Eligibility: Any full-time faculty in the college

Funded by a generous gift from Hazel R. McClymont, this Award honors exemplary teaching in the College of Arts and Sciences and carries a $6,000 award for the recipient. Any full-time faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences is eligible to receive the McClymont Award. The College typically names one recipient each year.

In keeping with the mission and goals of the College of Arts and Sciences, McClymont Teaching Fellow Award recipients will have a demonstrated and sustained record in one or more of the following criteria:

1. Promoting students’ critical and creative thinking, active learning, and reflection—exposing students to a wide range of knowledge and to the processes by which new knowledge is acquired.

2. Teaching in a manner that enables students to become active and continuous learners and tolerant and responsible members of a global society.

3. Holding high standards for student performance and demonstrating effective teaching practices that help all students to meet these standards.

4. Supporting a community of teacher-scholars (at UNL or the state/region) in the areas of student learning, course design, assessment, and/or instructional practices.

Nomination files will remain eligible for consideration for three consecutive years (the nominee has the option to update the file each year). At the end of three years, a one-year waiting period is required before the faculty member is eligible to be nominated again.

Hazel R. McClymont
Mark Griep, Chemistry, received this award in 2017.