Faculty and staff awards, 2020-21

Photo Credit: Oldfather Hall
Thu, 03/25/2021 - 09:18

Faculty and staff who excel in advancing the mission of the university in teaching, research and service are recognized annually near the end of the spring semester.

Visit our Recognition web page to find out about each award.


Outstanding Research and Creative Activity (ORCA) Award

  • Margaret Jacobs, history and Great Plains studies



  • Margaret Jacobs, Charles Mach Professor of History
  • Kwame Dawes, George Holmes Professor of English
  • Jennine Capó Crucet, Susan J. Rosowski, Associate Professor of English
  • Christian Binek, Charles Bessey Professor of Physics and Astronomy
  • Jody Koenig Kellas, Willa Cather Professor of Communication Studies

Harold and Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award

  • Marc Garcia, sociology and ethnic studies

Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award

  • Amelia Montes, English and ethnic studies

James O'Hanlon Academic Leader Award

  • Dan Hoyt, sociology and interim chair of classics and religious studies


College Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Katherine Castle, communication studies
  • Lynne Elkins, earth and atmospheric sciences
  • Emily Kazyak, sociology and women's and gender studies
  • Matthew Van Den Broeke, earth and atmospheric sciences
  • Nathan Wakefield, mathematics
  • Anna Hiatt, biological sciences

College ORCA

  • Roland Végső , English
  • Eileen Hebets, biological sciences
  • Maital Neta, psychology

Hazel R. McClymont Distinguished Teaching Fellow Award

  • David Woodman, biological sciences

CAS Engagement Award

  • Clinical Psychology Training Program
  • Abla Hasan, modern languages and literatures

CAS Mentoring Award

  • Marianna Burks, biological sciences 
  • Courtney Hillebrecht, political science

CAS Inclusive Excellence and Diversity Award

  • Lydia Presley (graduate student), English
  • Lory Dance, sociology and ethnic studies