Honoring faculty and staff who advance the mission of the university in teaching, research and service.

Nomination information

2019 Awardees


Outstanding Research and Creative Award (ORCA)

  • Kwame Dawes, English
  • Innovation, Development, and Engagement Award (IDEA)
  • Mario Scalora, Psychology and Public Policy Center


Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award

  • Jeannette Eileen Jones, History and Ethnic Studies

Harold and Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award

  • Hope Wabuke, English

Louis Pound-George Howard Distinguished Career Service Award

  • Dan Hoyt, Sociology

Dr. Charles Riedesel Outstanding Academic Advising Award

  • Doug Pellatz, Mathematics

Willa Cather Professorship

  • Julia McQuillan, Sociology
  • Jay Storz, Biological Sciences

Susan J. Rosowski Professorship

  • Kristi Montooth, Biological Sciences

Aaron Douglas Professorship

  • Grace Bauer, English


Hazel R. McClymont Distinguished Teaching Fellow Award

  • Rosemarie Holz, Women's and Gender Studies

College ORCA

  • Jonis Agee, English
  • Sherilyn Fritz, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Biological Sciences
  • Kimberly Tyler, Sociology

College Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Brandon Bosch, Sociology, Political Science
  • Kelsey Burke, Sociology
  • Lory Dance, Sociology
  • David Harwood, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Eric Malina, Chemistry
  • Rachael Shah, English

College Teaching Academy Fellows

  • Kathy Castle, Communication Studies
  • David Harwood, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Yvonne Lai, Mathematics

Harold E. Spencer Professorship

  • Isabel Velázquez, Modern Languages and Literatures

Carl A. Happold Professorship

  • Maital Neta, Psychology
  • Phillip Schwadel, Sociology

Dr. Lucile R. Hac Chair of Chemistry Professorship

  • Jody Redepenning, Chemistry

Nominate someone for college-level recognition

CAS Engagement award

Recognizes people or units involved in exemplary engagement activities that have an impact beyond the university

College Outstanding Research and Creative Activity (ORCA)

Recognizes significant research and creative accomplishments of UNL faculty in the last five years.

Distinguished Teaching Awards

Annis Chaikin Sorensen Distinguished Teaching Award in the Humanities for outstanding humanities teachers, College Distinguished Teaching Award honors consistently excellent teaching, and Hazel McClymont Distinguished Teaching Fellow Award honors exemplary teaching, based on four criteria.


The highest form of recognition. Willa Cather/Charles Bessey for distinguished scholarship or creative activity, John E. Weaver/Aaron Douglas for a sustained record of teaching excellence and national visibility for instructional activities/practice, and Susan J. Rosowski for significant contributions in research and teaching and exceptional promise for future excellence

  • Due to the college by October 1, 2019 - the college due date is earlier than the EVC date because the college's Endowed Professorship Committee and the dean review the files.
  • Nomination process
  • Awardees

Nominate someone for university-level recognition

Edgerton Junior Faculty Award

Honors an outstanding junior faculty member who has demonstrated creative research, extraordinary teaching abilities, and academic promise.

Inclusive Excellence Collaboration Award (IECA)

Recognizes outstanding contributions which advance diversity, access and inclusion and equitable outcomes that drive inclusive excellence.

Innovation, Development, and Engagement Award (IDEA)

Honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have extended their academic expertise beyond the boundaries of the University in ways that have enriched the broader community.

O’Hanlon Academic Leader Award

Honors an academic leader who has demonstrated exceptional abilities to lead, serve, inspire, and collaborate on the academic goals of the university.

Outstanding Research and Creative Activity (ORCA) award

Honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have conducted outstanding research or creative activity of national/international significance.

Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Award (OTICA)

Honors members of the University of Nebraska faculty who have developed meritorious and sustained records of excellence in teaching and creativity related to teaching.

University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA)

Honors a department/unit at the University of Nebraska which has outstanding esprit de corps in its dedication to the education of students at the undergraduate, graduate, or professional levels.