Student achievements, 2022-2023

Photo Credit:
Mon, 05/01/2023 - 10:20

In a range of categories, Huskers excel at stretching their strengths. We support our students' efforts and are proud to recognize and share their accomplishments.

Academic All-Big Ten students are on a varsity team, have been enrolled full-time for at least 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. This year's recipients:

  • Isabelle Bourne, communication studies, Women's Basketball
  • Clara Colombo, biochemistry, Women's Gymnastics
  • Kinsey Davis, communication studies, Women's Gymnastics
  • Liam Doherty-Herwitz, environmental studiesMen's Gymnastics
  • Emily Haimes, history and psychology, Women's Swimming and Diving *
  • Brock Hardy, psychology, Wrestling
  • Madison Lloyd, psychology and sociology, Women's Swimming and Diving
  • Daniel Monahan, biological sciences, Wrestling
  • JoJo Randby, biological sciences (and management), Women's Swimming and Diving *
  • Emma Spence, communication studies, Women's Gymnastics

Chancellor's Scholars are students who graduated last December or will graduate this May and earned an A in every class. This year's recipients:

  • Emily Barajas, psychology
  • Renee Box, biological sciences
  • Samantha Byrd, history
  • Thomas Clare, microbiology
  • Shelby Crays, broadcasting, film studies
  • Charlie Croteau, psychology
  • Sophia Duggan, psychology
  • Alyssa Farrens, English
  • Phoebe Feis, political science
  • Katie Fischer, political science
  • Brynn Fuelberth, environmental studies
  • Nathan Gentry, computer science
  • Samuel Gilbert, actuarial science, mathematics, finance
  • Anne Goodman, political science
  • Joshua Gromowsky, mathematics, political science
  • Madison Gulizia, biological sciences
  • Jaela Hardin, psychology
  • Ryan Hruby, computer science, mathematics
  • Noah Hudson, Computer Science
  • Michael Ilg, biological sciences
  • Zoe Keese, biochemistry
  • Michael Kelly, computer science
  • Emma Krab, journalism, English
  • Logan Larsen, psychology
  • Khanh (Krystal) Le, psychology
  • Lauren Lintner, psychology
  • Brenna Mazour, psychology
  • Kieran McWilliams, computer science
  • Andrew Minchow, biochemistry
  • McKenzie Nelson, German, global studies
  • Quan Nguyen, computer science, mathematics
  • Phuc Nguyen, political science, Russian
  • Kim Hao Nguyen, computer science, mathematics
  • Leah Olson, computer science
  • Osvaldo Palma Vargas, sociology
  • Charlie Peng, computer science, actuarial science, finance
  • Mili Samal, political science
  • Nora Santelman, anthropology, classics and religious studies
  • Zachary Streich, computer science
  • Abby Thramer, chemistry
  • Carly Trebac, biological sciences
  • Lillyan Uhlmann, history, global studies

Graduate Research Fellowship Program awards from the National Science Foundation provide three years of support to graduate students pursuing degrees in STEM disciplines and have demonstrated the potential for significant research achievements. This year's recipient:

  • Cleve Young, mathematics

The Innocents Society was founded in 1903 to promote the spirit of the university. The chancellor's senior honorary inducts 13 new members each spring, with selection based on leadership, academic achievement and service to the university and greater community. This year's inductees:

  • Brynn Boes, biological sciences
  • Sarah Frett, psychology
  • Caitlin Murphy, mathematics (and actuarial science and music)
  • Danie Oberpriller, biological sciences
  • Katherine Swan, biological sciences
  • John Vacek, chemistry and psychology

Mortar Board members advance scholarship, leadership, and service. New members of the Black Masque Chapter are added each spring by current members wearing black masks and robes. This year's inductees:

  • Grant Auman, political science, Spanish, and economics
  • Quinlan Couch, biochemistry
  • Carson Dettmer, biochemistry
  • Henry Drvol, biological sciences
  • Janana Khattak, political science
  • Joseph Kirshenbaum, chemistry and economics
  • Preston Kotik, biochemistry and political science
  • Lauren Kruger, biological sciences
  • Shivani Mudhelli, mathematics (and computer science)
  • Emily Plotnik, biological sciences
  • Samuel Spethman, political science and communication studies
  • Chanasei Ziemann, biological sciences and biochemistry

The CAS Inclusive Excellence and Diversity Award honors people, organizations, or units within the college involved in innovative or exemplary activities that have an impact on campus or in the community that promotes inclusive excellence and diversity.

  • Lara Garrido, modern languages and literatures

The Student Research Days poster sessions provide an opportunity for students to present their research or creative work to the larger UNL community. Students are judged on content and presentation, and outstanding work earns a monetary award.

  • Abbey Bowers
  • Himanshu Gandhi
  • Camden Jones
  • Grace Heath
  • Marissa Mendez-Santiago
  • Alyssa Simpson