Student awards for academic year 2019-2020

Photo Credit: N gateway
Thu, 05/21/2020 - 07:49

Boren Scholarships are given to highly motivated people to learn critical languages and then work for the federal government. As part of the award, scholars agree to work in the federal government for at least a year. Here are this year's recipients.

  • Cameron Azimi, global studies and political science
  • Andrew Neill, global studies and geography

The Cargill Global Scholar program provides financial support and leadership development opportunities to undergraduate students. Here is this year's recipient.

  • Patrick Baker, political science and global studies

Chancellor's Scholars are students who graduated last December or May and maintained 4.0 grade-point averages on all collegiate work at Nebraska and elsewhere. Here are this year's recipients.

  • Joseph Russell Cowman, computer science
  • Simone Louise Droge, history and English
  • Sean Daniel Fitzgerald, computer science
  • Cristian Andres Wulkop Gil, biochemistry
  • Daniel Guo, computer science
  • Amy Jane Heusinkvelt, geography
  • Philip Anthony Holubeck, biochemistry
  • Allison Sienna Inman, computer science
  • Emily Kay Johnson, political science, Spanish and global studies
  • Reid England Jones, computer science
  • Spencer Quinn Jones, biochemistry
  • Celie J. Knudsen, English, and women's and gender studies
  • Jesse Alexander Kruse, physics and mathematics
  • Olivia Rose Maras, psychology
  • Samantha Marie Martens, psychology
  • Jacob Joseph Piccini, computer science
  • Benjamin Thomas Stark, microbiology
  • Gregory John Tracey, global studies and economics

The Fulbright Scholarship Program is designed to foster understanding between the United States and other countries. The Fulbright U.S. Student Program gives recent graduates, graduate students and young professionals the opportunity to conduct research, study or teach in one of 140-plus designated countries. Here are this year's recipients.

  • Emily Johnson, global studies, political science, Spanish
  • Miranda Kuzela, Russian, political science, Spanish, and global studies
  • Maddie Maschka, biological sciences
  • Dana Moze-Kadavy, global studies
  • Rose Wehrman, English

The Gilman Scholarship is awarded three times a year by the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and administered by the Institute of International Education for students to study and intern in a diverse array of countries and to study languages, especially critical-need languages.

  • Mahaa Albusharif, biochemistry, South Korea
  • Randa Ismail, biochemistry, France
  • Cory Meyer, sociology, Japan
  • Megan Miigerl, biological sciences, Ethiopia and Zambia
  • Dylan Patrick, political science, China
  • Autumn Traylor, political science, Colombia
  • Madison Whitney, global studies, China
  • Jissell Cruz, psychology, Argentina